Getting back in the Groove

Robert Patrick Moore & green, green upstate New York in July

Robertito Moore at 8 months, the best excuse to hop a plane!

Greetings, Saludos, and plain old “Hi” to friends and readers of Cachando Chile… I owe you all a bit of an explanation… This is the longest I’ve ever gone without posting since Cachando Chile began a year and a half ago–and hopefully it will be the last time too! In these past few weeks, when Chileans bundle up against the cold and gringos, like birds,  make our annual migration north, I’ve been (delightfully) overwhelmed  by family, (not so delightfully) overloaded by work, and generally gearing up for some big changes… Patience… Patience… You’ll see soon enough!

El gruinguito gets his first lesson on bringing out his inner chilenito during the Chile-Spain World Cup game. Chi-Chi-Chi-le-le-le!

I took a mini-quasi-sorta vacation “home” to the northern US and will post a bit about that experience soon (traveling “home” is always an experience… and how does an expat define “home” anyway? And for that matter, is it “travel” if you’re going “home”? And is it still home if you’re not part of daily life there? Ahh, the existentialism of it all!). Yes, yes, the expat experience meets the home front… to be continued, explored, and expanded upon! And then get back on track with full swing Chile…

9 responses to “Getting back in the Groove

  1. My first wife was Irish. Whenever we went to Ireland somebody would say ‘Are you home for a holiday?’ My Chilena daughter in law, after my last visit to Chile, said ‘It is always good to see you home’.
    I am neither Irish nor Chilean, just a Brit married into adoptive cultures it seems. And it is quite pleasant that both the Irish and Chilenos include me as an honorary member of the nations of which they are so proud. It is sort of being an ex-pat in reverse! Maybe a ‘home-pat’?
    I also have a very good (two years old) reason for flying to Chile twice a year. She is called Amber Shea Towl Llanos and I will see her again in October.

  2. Hi Jack: “Home-pat”–good one! Or how about “in-pat”?
    How fortunate we are to be able to share other cultures… something that sets us aside from other types of travelers…
    My daughter’s name is also Amber, although here in Chile everyone either changed it to “Ambar” (AHM-bahr, the same stone, Spanish version) or pronounced it AHM-bair.” And Ambers of any age are a pretty darned good reason to fly!

  3. Peg,

    Thanks for the visit; it’s not often I get to hang with another true “foodie”, even if it does take longer to eat because “alguien” insists on taking several pictures of every entrée served! Thanks for the wonderful olive oil, it’s delicious!

  4. Hey Matt (yes, another Cachando reader named Matt!)… It was a great trip–and all that great food sure helped! Thank YOU for that! Can’t wait to see what we can come up with next time… still thinking about grilling that lamb!
    And sorry about the photography-induced delay in eating… consider it a contribution to international culinary education, a legacy to gastronomic posterity… and the pictures will show up here!
    Glad you liked the olive oil! Chilean oil is really the best!

  5. Hi Margaret, good to know you are still alive, I was thinking you are a really chilean now, because your last coment was about ”Chile does it again”, and normally when Chile is wining everybody is happy, but if they lost or tie the game, then ”the chileans” will say ”I knew it” and pretty much forget all about it , or support another team, a chilean slang for that is ”cambiarse la camiseta”.
    Any way, is good to know your are back and we can enjoy the blog again.

  6. Hi Lily- I really hate to let the blog go this long without writing! I write a dozen posts a day in my head, but then other things get to the top of my priority list and I have to wait yet another day to write up whatever it was I had going through my mind (or camera) that day!
    And no- I’m not much of a camiseta changer! I think Chile did great, all things considered!
    And thanks for letting me know you enjoy the blog! I’ve got some cool stuff coming up SOON!

  7. Lily: I’ve never heard “cambiarse la camiseta”. Maybe you are thinking in “darse vuelta la chaqueta”.

    Margaret: is there another way for a Chilean to pronounce /ˈæmbər/ besides /’amber/?

  8. Hi Pedro- I’ve never heard the expression either, but it does make perfect sense… si uno lleva la “camiseta puesta” to show loyalty, why not “cambiar la camiseta” to show a change of sides…
    Can you not “darse vuelta a la camiseta”===

    With respecto to the name Amber… the English pronunciation is more cerrado- with that funny short “a” as in “father” up front and the closed “er” (as in your correct phonetic spelling) instead of “air” at the end… both sounds that don’t exist in Spanish as far as I know…
    In fact, my mother-in-law offered to teach me how to pronounce my daughter’s name!
    It’s really amazing how names that are so common and easy in one language can be so complicated in others!
    See my post “Identity Change” for example! https://cachandochile.wordpress.com/2009/01/08/identity-change/

  9. Robertito for President! He is one handsome little guy. Love that Vamos Chile picture.

Leave a Reply

